TLBHD - Thinner Lighter Better

Asus Transformer Book T200TA review

By Andrei Girbea , updated on April 8, 2021
Tested: Asus Transformer Book T200TA
Rating: 4/5     Price Range: $399-$499
Summary: The Asus Transformer Pad T200TA is one of the most interesting affordable 2-in-1s of the moment. It starts at $400 and for that kind of money you're getting a BayTrail platform machine with a 11.6 inch IPS display, a 37 Wh battery and a docking unit that bundles a full-size keyboard, wide trackpad and more ports. They all add up and the entire thing is rather bulky and heavy, but that's a compromise you can probably learn to live with.

The good

nicely build, decent quality IPS screen, handle daily tasks well, packs a dock with a good keyboard and a good selection of ports, charges fast and lasts for 8+ hours on a go, excellent price

The bad

bulky and heavy, packs only an HD screen and only 2 GB of RAM

A while ago I’ve reviewed the Asus Transformer Book T100TA, which quickly became one of the best-selling 2-in-1s of the last year. Now it’s time to have a look at a similar, yet different in a few important ways device, the Transformer Book T200TA.

This one is mostly an oversized version of the T100, as it is still designed as a stand-alone Windows 8.1 tablet bundled with a matching docking station, included in the pack. In other words, the T200 is something you can use as a regular slate, or a mini-laptop if you need the extra productivity provide by a keyboard and peripherals.

Compared to the T100 though, the T200 is larger, heavier, and packs an 11.6 inch touchscreen. The dock is more complex, with extra ports, a full-size keyboard, and a wider trackpad. Price-wise though, the T200 is expected to start at $399 (follow this link for an updated price tag at the time you’re reading this), which is more or less on par with what Asus charged for the T100 at launch.

Keep in mind that I’ve used the T200 extensively for the last two weeks and my review is based on my impressions gathered during this time. The tablet came from Asus’s PR department and went back after I published the article and the video.

Later update: The Transformer Book T200TA has grown old in the meantime, but if you’re still interested in this kind of highly-portable devices, then you should definitely check out our guides on the best 10 and 11-inch mini-laptops available in stores these days, as well as our more recent reviews of Asus ultraportable devices.

The Asus Transformer Book T200 is one of the most affordable 11.6 inch 2-in-1s available right now

The Asus Transformer Book T200 is one of the most affordable 11.6 inch 2-in-1s available right now

  Asus Transformer Book T200TA spec sheet
Screen 11.6 inch, 1366 x 768 px, IPS
Hardware Intel Atom BayTrail-T Z3775 CPU 1.46 GHz CPU and Intel HD graphics
Memory 2 GB RAM
Storage 64 GB eMMC inside the slate and 500 GB HDD in the dock
Connectivity
Wireless N, Bluetooth
Sensors accelerometer, compass, gyroscope, light sensor
Ports micro-HDMI, micro-USB, microSD card reader (up to 64 GB cards), proprietary docking port, headphone jack
Cameras 5 MPx back camera without Flash, 1.2 MPx front camera
Battery 37 Wh
OS Windows 8.1
Size Tablet: 305 x 194 x 11.95 mm (12” x 7.6” x 0.47”)
With dock: 305 x 200 x 26 mm (12” x 7.7” x 1”)
Weight Tablet: 780 g (1.71 lbs)
With dock (and HDD): 1625 g (3.58 lbs)
Others docking station included, with keyboard, trackpad, USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 slots, LAN port and HDD

The Video Review

Design, exterior and first look

Like I said above, on a first look the T200 seems just like a larger version of the popular T100. That was expected, since there’s an 11.6 inch screen on this Transformer Book, while the T100 only packed a 10.1 inch display. However, you’ll notice that there’s a lot of bezel around the screen, at this has a major impact on this slate’s footprint as well.

On top of that, the T200 is rather heavy, as it tips the scales at 1.7 pounds. Have it connected to the dock and you’ll end up with a 3.6 pounds device, while most standard 11 inch mini laptops weigh less than 3, which means that Asus somewhat sacrificed portability on this device in order to implement the form-factor with reduced costs.

Weight aside though, the T200 feels and looks good enough. In fact, it’s fairly sturdy and nicely finished, again, for something that only sells for $400. Blue textured plastic is used for the slate’s back and sides, with a rubbery feel that makes it grippy in hand, but will catch dirt easily. The sides are a bit sharp and covered in some sort of glossy plastic, while the front is occupied by the screen (and bezel).

It’s worth noticing here that all the ports and connectors were placed on the left-edge, which leads to an uncluttered right-side, ideal for most users when having this on a flat surface, in laptop mode.

Docking station

The dock is made from a mix of silver plastic on the interior and black, rugged plastic on its belly. But if you were looking for premium materials, you won’t find them on the T200.

In fact, this is what makes the Transformer Book T200 as versatile as it is, enhancing your experience with the slate. It offers a full-sized keyboard, with proper spaced keys, good tactile feedback and decent travel. In fact, this feels a lot like the keyboards on the Asus Chromebook C200 and the Asus Vivobook X202.

There’s also a large, smooth trackpad and most-of-the-time accurate trackpad, with gestures support, and a roomy palm-rest.

On top of that, on the sides Asus tucked a LAN port and two USB connectors (USB 3.0 on the right and 2.0 on the left), while on the inside there’s room for a hard-drive. A 500 GB HDD came presintalled on our test unit, but Asus actually made it really simple to access this bay, which is only one Philips screw and one plastic cap away from you. So if you’ll buy the T200 without the HDD in the dock, it’s going to be very easy to put one in there yourself (or maybe put an SSD instead).

Latching/unlatching the slate and the dock together is another simple process and the hinge is solid enough to keep the screen exactly how you’ll set it up. However, the connection is not completely firm, as the slate moves in place when attached to the dock. On the other hand, the T200 is not very top-heavy, so it won’t easily fall on its rear when the screen is leaned back as much as the hinge allows.

To sum these up, I overall liked how this Transformer Book T200 feels and looks. The slate itself is large and heavy, thus not that comfortable to use, which I wasn’t exactly expecting considering the hardware it packs inside (read down below for details). But that’s the corner Asus had to cut in order to meet the low price point and it’s just something you’ll have to take as it is.

Screen

There’s an 11.6 inch touchscreen on this T200 and Asus went with an average-quality IPS panel. It covers 72% of the sRGB and 55% of Adobe RGB standards, which is not bad, but not impressive either. It has good viewing angles and the average DeltaE for the uncalibrated panel is 1.99, with the Blues and the Reds more aggressively skewed than the others.

More details are available below (I’m using a Datacolor Spyder4 Elite colorimeter for the measurements):

  • measured gamma: 2.3 ;
  • max brightness in the middle of the screen: 254 cd/m2 on power;
  • contrast at max brightness: 630:1;
  • white point: 7200 K;
  • black on max brightness: 0.40 cd/m2;
  • average DeltaE: 1.99 uncalibrated, 1.55 calibrated .

The White point is rather cold, but the panel is bright enough and offers decent contrast. On top of that, the Brightness distribution is really good. The picture included is a bit skewed, as there was just not enough room to place the Spyder on the lower third of the screen, which resulted in what I consider inaccurate results for that area of the screen.

Of course, the display is glossy on this device and if you plan to use it outside, reflections and glare are going to be a problem.

Hardware and daily use experience

Hardware wise, the T200 shares the same platform as the T100: an Intel Atom BayTrail-T Z3775 processor with 2 GB of RAM and 64 GB of internal eMMC storage and a 500 GB HDD in the dock, for this tested version. Roughly 35 GB are available for your own content on that internal flash, with a fresh Windows 8.1 install. In time, this space will diminish.

The Hynix made eMMC is not a lot faster than a regular HDD, but at least it’s silent. And the fact that this laptop only comes with 2 GB of RAM will probably disappoint some of you, especially since those cannot be upgraded and the Atom platform supports up to 4 GB of memory. However, if Asus went for 4 GB of RAM on this one, they also would have had to get the 64bit version of the OS preinstalled, and these two would have once again affected the price.

And as James added in the comments section: “Besides cost, 4GB LP-DDR3 RAM is also still not a common option for mobile range devices and the Bay Trail T is using the same mobile LP-DDR3 RAM used in many ARM based devices. So the increase cost would be greater than it would be for the Bay Trail M and D series that support DDR3L RAM that can be readily found in higher capacities.

The hardware is not upgradeable and in fact accessing it is not an easy endeavor, as it requires to remove the slate’s back cover. There is however a HDD in the dock, a Hitachi Travelstar Z5K500 HTS545050A on our unit, which is a 7 mm drive . I can’t confirm whether 9 mm drive will work or not, but you can be safe as go with 7 mm ones.

The Atom platform is meant to be primarily efficient, so it’s not a power-horse, but is capable of handling well most everyday activities, from browsing to chatting, from editing texts to watching all sorts of video content, listening to music and even playing older games or the touch-optimized titles in Microsoft’s Store. Just don’t over push it and don’t try to multitask between many apps opened at the same time, cause if you do, you’ll end up with a choppy experience.

I had no problems running high-bitrate 1080p mkvs on this T200 or streaming 1080p content from Youtube, in which case the Wireless module proved fast and reliable (a Broadcom 802.11 bgn chip). There’s also a Fast Ethernet Realtek adapter, in case you need to go the wired route.

The speakers are not bad either, loud and punchy, and definitely help with the overall multimedia experience, but the slate’s shell tends to vibrate when pumping up the volume, which is not going to be a problem when using this T200 in laptop mode, but could be when holding it as a tablet.

The computer also runs cool, as you can see from the pictures below and the case barely gets warm under load. On top of that, this thing is almost completely noiseless, if not for the occasional cranking of the spinning hard-drive. Otherwise, the platform is fan-less, thus dead-quiet.

Battery Life

The T200 is capable of going for up to 8 hours of daily use, with Wi-Fi ON and the screen at 50%, while performing a mix of the activities mentioned above, with the dock attached all of the time. And that’s not bad at all.

The tablet can also go for about 11 hours when left idle, with the screen completely dimmed down. At the same time, it will run out of juice in under 5 hours of full-load with the screen at max brightness.

Keep in mind that this particular version of the T200 comes with the HDD inside the dock and that’s going to have an impact on final numbers. If you’ll go for the versions without the HDD, your T200 will last somewhat longer each charge. It’s also worth noting here that there’s no extra battery inside the dock.

There’s supposedly a 37 Wh battery inside the slate, although HWInfo and other similar software only show an 18.5 Wh one on my test unit, but also abnormally small average consumption, which makes me think the apps are only reporting on half of the battery, but the entire one is actually in use.

The laptop comes with a 33Wh power-brick and a complete charge takes around 2 hours (with light use during this time). It no longer charges via the microUSB port, like the T100 model, but through a dedicated charging pin.

The T200 charges fast

The T200 charges fast

Pricing and conclusions

Now, to wrap this up, the T200 sure offers a lot for the money: an interesting hardware platform, long battery life, a nice screen, plenty of ports and a surprisingly good typing experience. It does sacrifice portability, as it is bulky and heavy for an 11 incher.

It’s also not meant for heavy use, but can handle well the daily chores. Last but not least, it’s built entirely out of plastic and some of you might have expected a higher resolution screen and better hardware configurations, with 4 GB of RAM and extra storage space, but those would have driven the prices up.

Asus chose to keep the prices down instead, as the T200 starts at $399 for the 32 GB version (follow this link for the updated price). There will be a couple of different other models available as well, including one with 64 GB of SSD storage, 4 GB of RAM and one with a HDD included in the dock. Personally, I’d buy the 64 GB variant and add a storage unit of my own licking in the dock later on, preferably an SSD, in order to keep this thing completely noiseless, as this is after all one of the Atom’s platform selling points.

I’ll update this section with prices and configurations as soon as the T200 becomes available in stores.

Update: the 32 GB model is available in UK at various stores, Including Argos, for £349 (Thanks Alan).

Update2: The $399 model, with 32 GB of storage, 2 GB of RAM and no HDD in the dock, seems to be BestBuy exclusive in the US right now. Other shops, including Amazon or B&H or Newegg list a $499 version, which bundles a higher clocked Intel Z3795 processor, 4 GB of RAM, 64 GB of storage and Windows 8.1 64-bit. There’s not Office license included with this model (or with the cheaper base version either) from what I can tell, unlike with the smaller T100TA and T100TAM 2-in-1s.

While not without flaws, the Asus Transformer Book T200TA sure offers a lot for the money

While not without flaws, the Asus Transformer Book T200TA sure offers a lot for the money

At the end of the day, the Transformer Book T200 hits the sweet-spot and I believe it’s going to be one of the most popular inexpensive 2-in-1s of this year. It’s not the ideal option for everyone and it might not be what you want, in which case you should check out my list of recommended 11 inchers available here on the site, and also some of the other Asus Transformer Books, the portable and cheap T100, or the premium looking T300, with a 13 inch screen, Intel Core hardware and a sleek metallic body.

Either way, that’s about it for this review. Let me know what you think about the Asus Transformer Book T200TA in the comments section below, and if you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask, I and the other readers will be around to reply.

Disclaimer: Our content is reader-supported. If you buy through the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.
Andrei Girbea, Editor-in-Chief at TLBHD.com. This project was born as part of my search for capable mini-laptops that I could easily lug around to work, and still provide the performance that I'd need on a daily basis. I'm primarily using such ultracompact devices and have been testing them since 2006.

135 Comments

  1. James

    August 1, 2014 at 8:35 am

    Just a point of clarification… The original T100 has a Z3740 and not a Z3775 as this newer T200 has, only the more recent updated T100 models have the Z3775 but they are still in limited distribution and are primarily offered in two color options… Unlike the original…

    There might also be some additional thermal restrictions for the T100… Since it was originally designed to use the Z3740 that maxes out at 1.86GHz, as at least one user of the updated model has reported the max clock speed of 2.39GHz quickly drops to about 2.24GHz for prolonged usage but we would need a performance test on the T200 to be sure it’s thermally related or just a quirk of the Z3775 but the original Z3740 usually sustained its max clock speed for prolonged usages.

    Another clarification is on the RAM… The tablet range Bay Trail T’s only support up to 4GB of RAM… Only the Bay Trail M and D series sold under the Pentium and Celeron brands support up to 8GB of RAM…

    Besides cost, 4GB LP-DDR3 RAM is also still not a common option for mobile range devices and the Bay Trail T is using the same mobile LP-DDR3 RAM used in many ARM based devices…

    So the increase cost would be greater than it would be for the Bay Trail M and D series that support DDR3L RAM that can be readily found in higher capacities…

    The upcoming Cherry Trail update, though, will increase the max support for the tablet range to 4GB but we’ll be well into 2015 before we see any products based on that update… at least with anywhere near max specs offered as initial release is suppose to be a more budget friendly value edition…

    While Braswell will focus more on affordability… Meaning we may not see a major push for higher RAM until Broxton towards the end of 2015 and they eventual switch to LP-DDR4…

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 2, 2014 at 8:55 pm

      Hi James. Your comment is pure gold, like always. I do know that the original T100 shipped with the Z3740 and I’ve recently reviewed the T100TAM, with the Z3775 and a metallic body. Will post the review soon as well as comparison between the T100TAM and the T200. As you said, the T200 runs cooler, but that was expected, given how there’s more room for the hardware.

      I didn’t have the time to get into stress testing with neither of these though, I didn’t know it was a concern. CPU frequencies with normal use seemed fine though (even when running CInebench), with no trace of throttling.

      And thanks for the comment on the BayTrail T max memory, not sure why I was under the impression the Z3775 can be paired with up to 8 GB of RAM. 2 GB of RAM is OKish for light tasks, but even browsers require a lot of memory these days, so it would be nice if manufacturers would at least give the option to buy these devices with 4 GB of RAM, no matter the price.

    • Rebel

      March 2, 2015 at 5:55 am

      swift keyboard app was a godsend on the t100.Has anyone found simular app for the transformer. I need it for tiny my tiny hand no arm. Thanks

  2. Craig Borrenpohl

    August 1, 2014 at 9:55 pm

    Thank you so much for this review, I have been waiting for release information and general thoughts on the device and yours is the first comprehensive review I have found.
    Thanks Again,
    CMB

  3. James

    August 3, 2014 at 6:06 am

    Oops, one mistake in my last comment… The Cherry Trail will increase the max support for the tablet range to 8GB…

    Something we will also start seeing with the introduction of 64bit ARM, like the Nvidia K1 is suppose to support up to 8GB as well but likely won’t happen until they introduce the dual core 64bit version later… as the present version is still using 32bit quad cores…

    Of course, we’ll more likely just see 4GB start becoming the norm but at least it’ll finally be more than 2GB…

    So 2015-16 is when we should see this new trend finally kick in and see more than just premium business class models offering such capacities…

  4. Simon

    August 8, 2014 at 2:59 pm

    Thank you for that detailed T200TA review. Everything there looks good to me except the weight. Do you know if any other manufacturers who today have 11.6″ 2-in-1s with Atom Z2760 are planning to update them to Atom Z3775 or better this fall?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 9, 2014 at 2:04 pm

      There aren’t any similar 11.6 inchers that I’m aware off. although I might have heard that MSI is launching something like this soon. The closest right now is the Dell Venue Pro, with a 10.8″ screen

  5. Faris Ammari

    August 8, 2014 at 10:01 pm

    Hello Mike,
    Thanks a lot for this review. I’m planning to have the T200 as a replacement for my Asus 1215B.

    One question please, I read in Asus website that the T200 will be equipped with 4G LTE wireless capabilities. Did you have this on your test device or know if this will be available in certain regions?

  6. Jerome

    August 9, 2014 at 2:04 pm

    Hi Andrei,

    Thanks for your review and sorry for the below english level! (will give you the best of a common french guy)

    I’m very interested by this device, but as i would like to go everywhere/everyday with it and avoid to bring the charger everytime… could you please test if it’s possible to charge (also, even if it’s really slow and painful) by micro-usb slot? Could be good news for lot of people as most of smartphone charger and USB PC, could be a backup solution.
    By the wway, it could be a good way to increase battery lifetime as soft charging is always better.

    Thanks in advance.
    Kind regards

    Jerome

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 9, 2014 at 2:14 pm

      It’s not, I’ve tested that and it is mentioned in the review, under the Battery life section. But its charger is compact and actually getting it along with you should not be a problem imh.

  7. Jerome

    August 9, 2014 at 2:32 pm

    Indeed… i reread and see it in your review. Sorry, i was hoping so much that i didn’t understood that you test it… Thanks a lot

  8. Enrico

    August 9, 2014 at 7:22 pm

    Hi Andrei,
    I know someone had already asked it but looking at the Asus page and even downloading the manual they actually show a sim slot and talk about LTE connectivity.

    Do you know where and when will be this version available? Would be a deal breaker for me.

    Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 12, 2014 at 3:26 pm

      I don’t even know for sure when the Wi-fi model is going to become available. I’d reckon both would launch at the same time though, in a few weeks

  9. Syl

    August 11, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    Sorry, but I didn’t undersand. If I buy this one, can I buy some extra memory as 4gb on my own or not?

    Sorry for my english, but I’m Greek :<

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 12, 2014 at 3:35 pm

      No, the RAM is NOT upgradeable on this laptop. Neither is the storage space. You’ll have to stick with what you get in the beginning.

  10. Job

    August 13, 2014 at 12:41 pm

    If I would like to change the 500 GB HDD in the dock into a SSD, what size should I buy? Would, for example, a 2.5″ Crucial MX100 fit? Thanks!

  11. Smaug the Great

    August 17, 2014 at 2:06 am

    My brother bought one 2 weeks ago and I have had some time with this device and would like to add that it does get warm when you are using it as a tablet. Maybe i’ve got warm hands, but it did get uncomfortable after a while. Also, about upgrading storage, apart from adding an HDD you could also use a MicroSD for extra storage. I still had a hardly used 250 GB harddrive from a defunct Asus EEE PC and gave that to my brother. It hardly makes any sound and has enough storage space for his needs.Also; you can’t use it when the battery is completely drained, even with the charger attached. You have to charge it for at least half an hour before you can switch it on. I myself am used to a EEE PC with a matte screen and I have to get used to the (very) glossy screen of the T200. When you sit right in front of a window in daylight, everything (yourself included) is mirrored on the screen and this lessens readability. The device does pack a lot more power than my EEE PC though. Converting a 1 GB DVD-rip to a lower resolution and bitrate takes 5,5 hours on the EEE PC, and only 1,5 hours on the T200.(and 12 minutes on my desktop, and that’s where I normally do videoconverting, I just ran the conversion to get a comparison).

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 17, 2014 at 11:20 am

      Hi, thanks for this feedback. On the fact that the tablet gets somewhat warm, well, I guess it depends on what you’re doing on it. If playing FHD movies and games, then yes, it’s going to and that just normal.

    • Marcus

      August 19, 2014 at 12:26 am

      Hi everybody.
      Smaug thanks for the feedback. If I understood right your brother have bought a T200 without HDD and you have been able to add a 2.5″ HDD?
      If right it’s pretty intresting for me because I plan to buy an hybrid to replace an Acer Aspire One wich is going junk (screen nearly broken with normal use and battery out of use => charger always pluged in). So I should be able to take its HDD, wipe it and plug it in the T200.

  12. Simon

    August 17, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    “My brother bought one 2 weeks ago….”
    Are T200s already in stores for purchase? In what country?

  13. Olivier

    August 18, 2014 at 5:15 pm

    Hi, thanks for this review

    I hesitate between the T200 and the T100

    I rather take this 200 (for the larger screen) but the T100 offers MS Office 2013 (which is important to me)

    Any news if Office will also be offered with T200 (or at a preferred price) ?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 20, 2014 at 4:58 pm

      I think the software package should be the same, but this differs from country to country, so you’ll have to wait for the T200 to pop-up in stores where you’re living, if it hasn’t already

  14. John

    August 19, 2014 at 5:01 am

    Thank you for a brilliant review.

    Do you know when this laptop will be available in the UK?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 20, 2014 at 4:59 pm

      I can’t comment on pricing and availability for the UK market right now, I have no inside info.

  15. Brett

    August 19, 2014 at 6:10 am

    Any news on an United States release?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 20, 2014 at 5:00 pm

      No, not for the moment. You should ask Asus North America for that and see what they have to say

  16. Simon

    August 20, 2014 at 6:03 pm

    Andrei,
    I read in a couple of places that ACER comes out with ACER Switch11 that would have very similar specs to ASUS T200. Do you have any info on that and planning to do a review?

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 21, 2014 at 6:22 pm

      I’ll do my best to get my hands on it when it becomes available, but I can’t promise

  17. Raul

    August 22, 2014 at 10:25 am

    Does this come with Microsoft Office home and student? That will help me decide between the T100 and this T200. Thanks!

    • Andrei Girbea

      August 22, 2014 at 4:27 pm

      That differs from region to region, but the software package should be identical to the one on the T100. You’d better wait for the T200 to hit the stores where you live before deciding though

  18. Rain

    August 26, 2014 at 7:46 am

    Slot for hdd/ssd is 7mm or 9mm?

  19. Keith

    August 28, 2014 at 3:33 am

    I’d like to know if 7 or 9mm too

  20. Andrei Girbea

    August 29, 2014 at 1:01 am

    7 mm. There was a Hitachi Travelstar Z5K500 HTS545050A HDD on this one

  21. Marcus

    September 3, 2014 at 1:09 pm

    I had the occasion to have a hands-on at the T200TA-CP0003H (32Gb w/o HDD) in a store and the salesperson allowed me to unscrew the trapdoor in the dock and have look. So I can confirm there is a SATA connector and it seems to be soldered to the motherboard.
    So I ordered it for 339,99€ (15% off) in another store (for french people : offre adhérent FNAC valable jusqu’au 29 septembre)

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 3, 2014 at 1:46 pm

      What do you mean by “soldered to the motherboard”? How else would they put the connector in there than stick it on some sort of circuit board?

      • Marcus

        September 3, 2014 at 2:34 pm

        I just mean the SATA connector is not just a piece of plastic junk not connected to the PC = you can add your own HDD on the HDD-less versions of the T200TA
        Sorry if it wasn’t clear (I’m a french speaker, maybe I made a mistake in the text?)

      • Andrei Girbea

        September 3, 2014 at 3:55 pm

        Don’t worry about it, I just wasn’t sure what you meant. Thanks for the clarification. And yes, like you said, all the electronics are there on the version without a HDD and it’s extremely easy to put your own HDD in place if you want to. Asus actually encourage that, since they made the access to that HDD bay so simple, while on the T100 you had to unscrew the entire back cover to get access to it.

      • Marcus

        September 3, 2014 at 5:08 pm

        no problem
        a precision for the other readers, I read on the internet that on the T100 delivered without HDD there is no connector in the dock so no possibility to add a HDD. Do you confirm?

      • Andrei Girbea

        September 3, 2014 at 5:43 pm

        I was not aware of that, I’ll have to look into it, but if you found this in several sources, then it’s probably so. I do not own a T100 and never opened one, so cannot confirm this

    • Malice

      September 17, 2014 at 11:02 am

      @Marcus, elle est où l’offre adhérent Fnac ? Parce que moi il ne me propose que 15% sur les accéssoires…
      Merci d’avance

      • Marcus

        September 18, 2014 at 11:45 am

        @Malice
        Effectivement elle n’apparaît plus sur le site, mais je t’assure qu’elle existait puisque j’en ai profité.
        Elle était indiqué valable jusqu’au 29 septembre, donc si tu es motivé tu peux aller voir directement en boutique si ça existe toujours

      • Marcus

        September 18, 2014 at 11:47 pm

        Pour info c’était une offre de rentrée valable sur tout les PC hybride 2 en 1

  22. Jacob

    September 3, 2014 at 5:46 pm

    Is it also possible to add your own HDD or SSD to the HDD-less versions of the current T100TA, with removable of the entire back cover?

  23. Alan

    September 8, 2014 at 7:11 pm

    The Asus Book T200 32gb is available from Argos and Very for £349 I have had mine for 2 weeks now.

  24. Tony

    September 12, 2014 at 3:48 pm

    Does the Asus Transformer Book T200 sold in the UK have the 5Mpx camera. How good are the pictures.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 14, 2014 at 12:12 pm

      I can’t say for sure, but it probably does. Pics quality is not going to be great though, especially in low-light. Outside in good light, you’ll get usable results. But you shouldn’t expect much from the cameras on a tablet ANYWAY 🙂

    • Alan

      September 14, 2014 at 1:59 pm

      Yes it does have the 5mp Camera, sorry not tried taken any pictures yet.

  25. Erin

    September 15, 2014 at 7:54 pm

    is the pre installed SSD memory upgradeable?
    or would this be pointless if you were just going to install a large SSD into the HDD slot?
    what I’m trying to determine is whether the overale performance of the laptop would improve just by replacing the factory installed SSD with a much fast one…didn’t i read that the factory one is no faster than a normal HDD?
    thanks for your help

    • Barry Geibel

      October 7, 2014 at 11:34 pm

      The T100’s SSD was soldered onto the board and could not be removed/replaced. I’m guessing it’s the same on this model, though I’m not sure.

      • Andrei Girbea

        October 8, 2014 at 2:55 pm

        It is, it’s an eMMC module and it’s not upgradeable.

  26. Erin

    September 15, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    Does any one have any idea when the 64GB SSD version might become available in the UK???

  27. adrian

    September 16, 2014 at 7:26 pm

    Does anyone know if the UK version comes with MS office pre loaded? Can’t find the details on the argos or very websites.

    Thanks.

  28. Emmanuel

    September 17, 2014 at 4:13 am

    when will it be availalbe in the states

  29. Alan

    September 17, 2014 at 10:20 am

    My UK version did not come with MS Office pre loaded.

  30. alan smith

    September 17, 2014 at 8:42 pm

    My UK T200 didn’t come with MS office

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 17, 2014 at 11:18 pm

      Thanks Alan for your replies, your help is much appreciated 😉

  31. Adrian

    September 18, 2014 at 2:41 am

    Thanks Alan.

    I contacted argos and was told that it did. Where did you get it from?

    Adrian

    • Alan

      September 18, 2014 at 12:17 pm

      Hi Adrian, I bought mine from Very.co.uk

  32. Marcus

    September 18, 2014 at 11:47 am

    I can also confirm that the french version of T200 doesn’t have an Office license (office 365 installed with 1 month trial)

    Does anyone have seen a cover adapted to the T200 on the internet?

    • Alan

      September 18, 2014 at 12:20 pm

      I also would like to buy a cover/case if anyone knows of one that will fit.

  33. Enrico

    September 18, 2014 at 12:21 pm

    Any news on the release date of the LTE version and where it will be available?

    Thanks!

  34. Alan

    September 23, 2014 at 5:25 pm

    I read on Twitter the Asus book T200 to go sale in October in America

  35. turski

    September 24, 2014 at 10:00 am

    Does anyone know if Asus has fixed in T200 the cracking screen (caused by the excessive hinge pressure on the screen), which T100 suffered from?

  36. Sam

    September 25, 2014 at 6:50 pm

    I plan to buy this for my work. I am sharing trading officer. May I know this computer able to support share trading plateform? Bcos I had tried tablet like ipad, they unable to support. The plateform use browser to view only but look like quite heavy usage. Please help to test it and let me know cos I hard to find the demo to test it. Thank you so much!

  37. Peter

    September 26, 2014 at 11:40 am

    Are you sure with similar battery life for T100/T200?
    According review at 7tutorials battery life of t200 is 29% less comparing to T100.
    Thanks

    • Peter

      September 26, 2014 at 12:21 pm

      + to be correct, at 7tutorials T200(with HDD) and T100(without HDD) was compared, but still, 30% is too much.

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 26, 2014 at 12:54 pm

      I’m not going to comment on their results, I’m not familiar with the benchmark they’ve used and how much a laptop is going to run on a charge depends on plenty of factors: screen brightness, power plan (not the case here though) and what exactly you’ll be doing on it, etc.

      But like you said, they are testing one device WITHOUT a HDD and one WITH so it’s unfair to compare the numbers. And their argument on the bigger screen on the T200 stands, but only to a point. They don’t mention that the T200 also has a bigger battery, which matters more imh.

      • Peter

        September 26, 2014 at 3:26 pm

        Probably I’ve solved a problem, see notebookcheck’s T100 review, last paragraph “The HDD version does lose some battery runtime (-1:31).”
        notebookcheck.net/Review-Asus-Transformer-Book-T100TA-C1-GR-Convertible.106219.0.html
        So, I’m surprised with HDD consumption and influence on battery life. Anyway, you’re right 🙂 & thank you for your answer.

  38. Peter

    September 26, 2014 at 11:52 am

    One more question :), in 7tutorials review is written “you will need to activate Office using the product key found in the packaging of the device”. Is Office included with T200?

    • Andrei Girbea

      September 26, 2014 at 12:55 pm

      I did not review a final release version, so I can’t comment on that. Hopefully some of the other readers can help you out here.

  39. lorraine

    September 26, 2014 at 5:47 pm

    issue I have is on the keyboard their I no num lock key and when typing letters on the right it shows as numbers on the screen instead of the letters. Can anyone help please ?

    • Nushi

      September 28, 2014 at 10:13 am

      On many laptop keyboards, numbers can be written on a “virtual numpad”, with each letter on the right hand side of the keyboard representing a button on a numpad. Usually there is a Fn+? key combination to enable it, or it may work directly by holding down Fn and typing on the virtual numpad.

      Some laptops also implement an “Fn lock”, meaning you hold down Fn for a few seconds and after that it’s always on. Perhaps you have this activated and thus are using the virtual numpad.

    • eveline

      December 1, 2014 at 2:59 pm

      is your problem solved and did you solve it?i have the same problem

  40. Alan

    September 28, 2014 at 11:21 am

    Hi I would like to add, I bought my T200 from Very.co.uk and it came with a trial version of office.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.